Institute Ethics Committee


I. Dates of IEC meetings Last date for Proposal submission  

Jan 11, 2022 (Tue)

Dec 21, 2021


Mar 08, 2022 (Tue)

Feb 15, 2022


Apr 12, 2022 (Tue)

Mar 29, 2022

May 10, 2022 (Tue)

Apr 19, 2022


Jul 12, 2022 (Tue)

Jun 21, 2022


Sep 13, 2022 (Tue)

Aug 23, 2022


Oct 11, 2022 (Tue)

Sep 27, 2022

Nov 08, 2022 (Tue)

Oct 18, 2022

II. Submission of proposals for IEC review
 Faculty members are requested to submit their proposals for IEC review only to iec[at]
  The proposal should be submitted only as a single consolidated pdf with all supporting documents in the following order of relevance:
  • Proposal for IEC review (Refer section III)
  • Signed Undertaking by the PI
  • Informed Consent Form (ICF) in English and vernacular languages (RefersectionIV)
  • Questionnaire / Feedback Form, if any, in English and vernacular languages
  • Supporting documents, if any
  • CV of PI & CoPI
III. Templates for Proposal Submission
IV. Templates for Informed Consent Form
  Note: The following information is to be included in the relevant section of the ICF:
  Contact details of the PI and IEC Member Secretary* should be mentioned in the ICF, so that they may be contacted in case of any doubt/anxiety.
  IEC Member Secretary (ex-officio) - Dr. Sreelekha P Gopinathan; Contact details 022-2576-7029, Mon-Fri, 10 AM - 4 PM
V. Institute Ethics Committee (IEC) Composition

  As approved by the Director, the current IEC constitutes the following members:


  • Chairperson - Dr. Renuka Munshi, Professor & Head - Clinical Pharmacology, TN Medical College & BYL Nair Hospital

  • Medico Legal Expert - Dr. Subodh Sirur, Dermatologist, Wockhardt Hospital


  • Medico Legal Expert - Dr. Pradnya Talwadekar, Country Coordinator for India Association Children Palliative Care Project

  • Clinician (ex-officio) - Dr. Arvind Meshram, Chief Medical Officer In-Charge, IITB Hospital


  • Clinician - Dr. Nisha Shah, Ex-Chief Medical Officer In-Charge, IITB Hospital


  • Clinician - Dr. Milind Gurjar, Visiting Physician, IITB Hospital


  • Clinician - Dr. Jyoti Sangle, Visiting Psychiatrist, IITB Hospital


  • Basic Scientist - Prof. Santosh Noronha - Faculty at ChE, IITB


  • Basic Scientist - Prof. Sreelaja Nair - Faculty at BSBE, IITB


  • Basic Scientist - Dr. Nishigandha Naik - Former Director, Haffkine Institute for Training, Research and Testing



  • Social Scientist - Prof. C. D. Sebastian - Faculty at HSS, IITB


  • Social Scientist - Prof. Ranjan Kumar Panda - Faculty at HSS, IITB


  • Community Representative - Ms. Manisha Naikdalal


  • Community Representative - Ms. Sridevi D. S.


  • Safety Officer (ex-officio) - Mr. K. V. Sajith, IITB

  • Member Secretary (ex-officio) - Dr. Sreelekha P. Gopinathan, Technical Officer, IRCC
VI. IEC Constitution - Office Orders
VII. Guidelines for reference
VIII. Gallery
IX. For any assistance, contact:
  Member Secretary - Dr. Sreelekha P Gopinathan, Technical Officer, IRCC 
Tel: 7029; Email: iec[at]